Westminster Leningrad Codex Tanach

I was reading YudelLine today and was intrigued by a pointer to The Internet Sacred Text Archive, and started following some links until I stumbled across the The Westminster Leningrad Codex (WLC) Tanach. It’s an incredibly well-annotated copy of the Hebrew Bible, and this online copy is easy to navigate.

From a technological standpoint I’ve long been skeptical of XSLT and DHTML. They promise a lot of functionality but bring with them a ton of complexity, and I’ve never been convinced that the tradeoff was worth it. This is one of the first applications I’ve seen that’s clearly more powerful than the good ol’ 1994 Web (all of the logic on the server-side) but isn’t too complex to understand. I need to stare at the code a bit to learn what they’re doing, but on first glance it looks like really simple XML with a sprinkling of XSL and the sarissa Javascript library to control the display of parts of document at runtime.

Funny what you end up learning when you follow a few random links…

Amy’s Kitchen Kosher Certification

amys-vegetable-lasagna.jpg I’ve often seen Amy’s Kitchen vegetarian frozen meals at supermarkets but haven’t purchased them in the past because they didn’t display a hekhsher. Ariella sent email on Sunday to ask if they’d consider getting rabbinic supervision and they replied back with some good news:

Amy’s Kitchen’s Kosher certification is from Rabbi Dov Hazdan of Ner Tamid K in Staten Island, NY. Amy’s became certified in November of 2003. With one exception, Amy’s products are certified as Kosher Dairy or Kosher Pareve as noted below. The Low Sodium Marinara is the only Amy’s Kitchen product that is not certified Kosher due to the presence of non-kosher red wine vinegar.

I guess they haven’t updated their packaging yet, but they did put a note in their FAQ. I guess it’s been asked frequently enough that it deserves a spot in the FAQ!

The consumer relations rep went so far as to send us a list of their kosher products, which I’ll post here.

These products are Kosher Pareve. They contain no dairy or meat ingredients: